Grim’s Dungeons of Doom: Dwellers of the Pit: Young Red Dragon

10 Aug

dwellers

Back again with another addition to the Dwellers of the pit, a series of companion articles to the dungeons of doom. This time, there’s no monster make or tutorial (I’m in the process of putting the next ones into order), just the stats for the FF dungeon skirmish. This time we have the Young red Dragon.

YOUNG RED DRAGON

DSCF5320

Every dungeon needs a dragon, although this one is just a mere child in dragon terms, he’ll still give a party of adventurers a run for their money!

dwellers2dragon

Description: (Taken from the original Out of the Pit 1985 Puffin Books)

Red Dragons are hoarders who relish collecting coins, jewels and all other valuable items. When encountered, a Red Dragon will usually be in it’s cavern, sprawled across the top of a large pile of treasure. Red Dragons are automatically suspicious of anyone they encounter, believing them to be thieves intent on stealing their treasure, and will attack them immediately.

They can shoot fireballs from their mouths, which they send roaring through the air to explode on their target. These can be avoided by a successful test for Luck, if they hit they will cause 2 STAMINA points of damage (4 from an adult Red Dragon) These creatures can produce one of these every other round, and can shoot them up to twenty-five metres with surprising accuracy.

Grim’s Dungeons of Doom Conversions

First of all, I’ll add that all all red dragons should be IMMUNE TO FIRE to start with (these are fire breathers after all)

Since we have a mention of range for once, a quick conversion directly works out at probably 12 inches for the Young dragons fireball weapon (I’d say an adult would be 24 at 4 Stamina damage per fireball) and thats pretty much it.

DSCF5321

To top off the article, I want to add the mini, isn’t actually a commercially available mini at all. I had this in my glass cabinet for a few years. After the great dragon cabinet incident (where a third of my 50+ dragon statues were lost by the shelves collapsing and the glass almost cutting my arms off at the wrist…but that is another story…) Well this small one survived and instead of putting him back in, I thought I’d give him a repaint (the paint job was below par) and I think he turned out ok. These kind of resin ornaments can be successfully used with your mini games, an most of the time are a lot cheaper than their gaming counterparts.

Anyway, please feel free to comment, like and share. I’m off now to finish my Dungeon door tutorial…

4 Responses to “Grim’s Dungeons of Doom: Dwellers of the Pit: Young Red Dragon”

  1. Ann Wycoff August 11, 2015 at 11:38 pm #

    Aw, he’s cute. I’d feel really bad playing a character that wanted to kill him. I think it would be better to make a pet out of him! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • grimace73 August 12, 2015 at 2:26 am #

      I must admit, I have a thing for dragons, and this little one survived the great dragon cabinet incident, where I ended up loosing some of my limited edition big resin dragon statues (and almost sliced my arms off if the glass had smashed!) so hes found a new home in my dungeon. I think he’ll be a lot safer there than he was before!

      Like

  2. Tarmor August 12, 2015 at 12:17 pm #

    I think the little guy is great! He’d fit in perfectly on my Dragon Shelves. My dragon collection often gets raided for D&D. On another point – I’m enjoying following the current “Dungeons of Doom” stuff – I was a great Fighting Fantasy Fan (had a heap of the books) and I’m interested in building more “dungeon” scenery for use in my RPG group.

    Liked by 1 person

    • grimace73 August 12, 2015 at 1:02 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Tarmor, i’m glad your enjoying the articles. I’m preparing loads more at the moment (Doors are next, followed by shelving, tables, chairs, books, and more…)
      I’m a big FF fan and have always loved the simplicity of the game, which I’ve always thought would translate into a great miniature skirmish game (with a little tweaking) I hope the articles can help inspire you to have a go at making your own dungeon stuff!!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.