Will Tabletop Towns Kickstarter proove to be a box of delights?

14 Jan

Tabletop Towns. by Julian G Hicks — Kickstarter.

So, yet another kickstarter, this time with table top terrain designed to fold flat for easy storage and transport, these 28mm buildings are what seems to be constructed in box style and taken down in much the same way you would a cardboard packet, and I assume that how they’re manufactured in the same manner.

Don’t get me wrong, I love terrain, and I love card models, but looking at the price on the KS for a set, I could make many free models on the net for the same price. The thing about card terrain is how quickly and cheaply you can build up your battlefield, and as long as you have enough printable card and ink in your printer, you can keep replacing them and adding to what you have. I like the generic look to them, but fear they are a little too generic, and slightly plain. I can’t see too many gamers shelling out for £20 to get a full set of 6, they need to be a little bit more special than they are to warrant that. (Edit: It’s been pointed out that the price is and has always been £10, and not £20 as I had mentioned in the article, so my apologies to Julian about that!!

Yes, I do realise that the KS has costs, printing, art, etc, but lets get real, I could probably get this job done for a quarter of the costs they want to raise. Admittedly I could probably do fine doing the art/texturing, but they are just boxes that fold up and fold down, there’s nothing revolutionary about the design. Plus the stuff they’re made from is just card, I have had stuff printed before and know that for a few hundred, you could have thousands of these made. (Edit: of which I must add now, that the £10 mark is much more reasonable!)

However, if they were at a good price or marketed a little better, they do have some applications.

First, they might be bundled in greater numbers (say 25-30) boxed up and presented like, “A town in a box” or such, they could be a better product, it’s something that could be taken and played anywhere, and there would be enough terrain to justify it being a town in the first place.

Second, this might lend itself to the buildings being game components within a boxed game (complete with miniatures, and the game etc) Maybe they could licence the concept to other fledgling KS start ups or even bigger compainies.

The box shape would lend more to modern or scifi themes, I think they may get more takers for that than the style they’ve gone for.

Saying all that, I may have come across like a negative, but don’t listen to me blagging on and on, go fund them and get them if you like them! they are perfect for a lazy gamer!!

TTFN

Enhanced by Zemanta

8 Responses to “Will Tabletop Towns Kickstarter proove to be a box of delights?”

  1. Julian G Hicks August 10, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    Hi Guys, just one thing – a set of 6 boxes was and still is £10 NOT £20 as stated in the review
    Julian G Hicks – Tabletop Towns
    and on other points what do you think of the new KS?

    a keep set is indeed £20 🙂

    Like

    • grimace73 August 11, 2013 at 2:11 am #

      Hi there Julian, thanks for your reply, I add my apologies for the mistake and I’ll be reviewing your latest KS (which looks excellent!) in a few days. I don’t know where I got £20 from, could have been the vodka talking from the night before, so please forgive me!
      Will

      Like

      • Julian G Hicks January 19, 2014 at 6:03 pm #

        Hiya 🙂 I hope all is going well with you, and your readers…
        I am about to bring the third offering of my cardboard buildings to Kickstarter.
        I have an early preview version of the kickstarter up, and would very much welcome your thoughts about how it might be tweaked to make it even more appealing to your readership? All thoughts and suggestions are welcome….
        Very Best regards
        Julian

        Like

      • grimace73 January 20, 2014 at 5:02 pm #

        Hi Julian,
        Nice to hear your doing well, and gearing up for your next KS.
        Sure, I be glad to help (and i’m sure my readers will too) If you want to shoot me an email, we can have a bit of a chat and you can tell me more! (Use the contact form on my site to email me)
        I look forward to seeing your new ideas!

        Will

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bug Hunt Corridors KS smashes $6,000 goal with 21 days left! « The Grinning Skull - January 17, 2013

    […] Will Tabletop Towns Kickstarter proove to be a box of delights? […]

    Like

  2. Stranger & stranger…Agnostic Giraffe Miniatures Kickstarter « The Grinning Skull - January 22, 2013

    […] Will Tabletop Towns Kickstarter proove to be a box of delights? […]

    Like

  3. Agnostic Giraffe Miniatures! by Tyler and Andrew » Updates — Kickstarter « The Grinning Skull - January 24, 2013

    […] Will Tabletop Towns Kickstarter proove to be a box of delights? […]

    Like

  4. Godslayer Kickstarter from Megalith Games « The Grinning Skull - February 7, 2013

    […] Will Tabletop Towns Kickstarter proove to be a box of delights? […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.