Crowdfunding Spotlight: Archiminima Structura Kickstarter

1 Feb

It’s been ages since I had a look at some KS stuff, so since I happen to be here, quiet and alone, it did give me chance to have a look at whats doing the crowdfunding rounds that would be of interest. This is one that seems to have slipped the net, not too much has been said about this project, but as we are informed, it’s a 15mm-ish castle building system for use with both wargamers and HO railway fans alike. On the face of it, its a nice thing with potential, but I think the creators made a boo boo, and I’ll tell you how….

So, why you blogging now, I hear you ask? Well, theres only a few days left, so blogging afterwards would be pointless, and I think the creators made a mistake by putting this in the wrong section. It might be a design based product, it’s true, but the emphasis has been put mostly on the railway hobbyists, rather than the wargaming lot. I’ll give you my reasons. From my experience, the railway lot demand much better detail from their model buildings, this system is somewhat basic compared to what is out there for them. Ok, so wargamers aren’t as demanding? Yes they are, and the flexibility of this product is far more the wargamers fare, than the HO peeps. Take for example, the fact that it’s modular and can be built and rebuilt over and over (if you wish) suits the gamer, the rail modelers won’t need that feature as much. Their focus is building a fixed layout mostly, they would be better off with tons of other products to do the job.

The whole nature of the beast is much more the gamers, lots of wargamers like to customise or get as much flexibility from their models. Lack of detail also is no concern, due to how wargaming terrain makers tend to use things like this as the starting point, then add more to personalise. Less so the HO railway people. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not dissing the model railways crowd, theres some mighty fine modelling done, but this doesn’t gel, especially as its based around a castle. Again the 15mm Fantasy/historical lot should have been shown this first, as it makes more sense.

It’s a little on the pricey side methinks, and a little too over engineered, but it’s ok. Shame it’s going to fail this time around. I don’t know if their background is that of the railway hobby, but since the emphasis put 15mm gamers second, I’ll assume that its the case. Maybe next time they launch, they should try the wargamer route first, as I could see this getting some takers, the limited use for a model rail set up versus battles on the table is a no brainer. Close, but no cigar.

Check it out, if I have piqued your interest, although I still reckon it’ll fail (this time)

ARCHIMINIMA STRUCTURA by ARCHIMINIMA TEAM — Kickstarter.

Leave a Reply

