15mm scratch built junk shuttle craft WIP

27 Oct

So I’m back to doing my 15mm salvage crew HQ. So far I have done my main admin block/junkyard, and I had another piece part done that goes on the front of it, a section on road with odds and sods on it.

However, a good examination of the model revealed it was bland. Hardly anything of value to it, very plain and boring.#

So I have decided to change it. The Black dog salvage co. really needed something to get their staff from A to B and to work on time, so instead of the road and rounabout turn, I made it into a small space taxi port with a landing pad (I’m still working on that so pics later)

As you can imagine, I needed to think about what was going to land on it as I started to make the pad.

A small company shuttle would do the trick! I admit, I had again cut myself out more work to do, and got carried away building the craft and got sidetracked from the main objective of the port. (Photos when I have tweaked the design a little and added customs/ticket booth with robot assistant, more billboards and dressing etc!)

So here is the work so far, I painted it up with a bit of metallic bronze/brown/silver/black, just to show up a bit more of the craft so I could work on it better. A lot of bits were quite hard to see on the model (They were made from clear plastic packaging) I think it helped show me what I need to do next, with more fine detail and such, so please don’t think i’m going to leave it like this!

Again, i used junk-fu scratch building skills, with the main body being a cigarette packet, other stuff like a hacked up toy car, broken toy bits, plastic packaging, card, wires, parts of a scrapped RC helicopter I cut up, bottle tops, straws, cig filters and bits from my tecchie bits box.

Like I said, it’s a bit rough round the edges, but it’s starting to take shape and it was a darn sight cheaper than trying to find something similar (it cost me nothing to make!)

I’ll keep you posted on it’s progress, hopefully I will have a shuttle port to go with it (A bit more work before that I’m afraid!)


Enhanced by Zemanta

One Response to “15mm scratch built junk shuttle craft WIP”


  1. Black Dog HQ landing pad scenic WIP « The Grinning Skull - December 16, 2012

    […] [The Grinning Skull] 15mm scratch built junk shuttle craft WIP […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,548 other followers

