Ooooow, you cheeky Starblazer you!

9 Jul

DSCF2689

I recently managed to get hold of a bundle of vintage “Starblazer” comics to help inspire me with a bit of retro sci-fi for my projects. I did bag them at a pretty good price, considering that I see them about individually for up to £3 a piece, 15 for just over a fiver is a steal! I thought they were in decent condition, until I took a look through PLANET OF FEAR

DSCF2690

Typical 80′s schoolboy humour!

As you can see on page 33 of the issue, someone back in the day has drawn on a huge set of cock and balls on one of the main characters in the story! Not only that, there’s a speech bubble with the phrase “Suck it Creep!” too, no doubt pertaining to his endowment!

DSCF2691

Over on the previous page, there’s also a bit more defacement in the book, again with the usual cock and balls (Always it seems with the cock and balls!)

I think a lot of comic collectors would be aghast, but not me. This kind of antic just went on more to remind me of the 80′s, when I was actually reading Starblazer, 2000AD and Spiderman etc! We used to do exactly the same as this, defacing everything from comics, to library and text books! All in the vain attempt to make each other snigger and laugh at school!

I’m pretty sure there will be no value to this copy anymore, but that’s fine, it gave me a good laugh when I read it, as well as a great nostalgia buzz!

Peace out…..

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers

