First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature

8 Jan

blu1

So you may recall me going on about a sculpt that I did last year being cast up. I thought that I would show you a first paint up of my new figure. Its a Criat Mercenary in 15/18mm scale for sci fi battle games.

As you can see from my scheme, I chose a blue colour rather than a natural one, just to differate it from it being realistic (with it being alien and its cartoony nature!)

blu2

blu3

So what do you think of the finished article? Please bear in mind, I hadn’t sculpted anything this small before so it’s a little rough around the edges, yeah, sure there are bits on it I could improve upon on future sculpts, but I’m pretty pleased with the overall model. It has plenty of detail for painting, and is very cute as well, I can see it appealing to fans of cartoon styles (I’m not keen on realism and love a cartoony/comic look to stuff like this)

For those of you who would like to compare him to another 15mm sci fi figure, here’s it next to a GZG  UNSC trooper for purposes of scale. It’s a deal bigger and chunkier as I had intended them, but may be I will do the next Criat figures a little less chubby! Not that I think there’s anything wrong with how it looks, I just want to get trying some other poses on the go with them if I do anymore. That will be decided by how well these little critters will be recieved by you the buying public!

blusiz

These miniatures will be available from 15mm.co.uk shortly, so if you are interested in getting a Criat or two (or more?) I will let you all know when they are on general release so you can purchase them! Like I said, if these are liked enough I will expand the Criat race with more infantry choices and additional figures, but that will be only if they go down OK! I invite any constructive feedback any of you may have  regarding any ideas etc for the criat, as well as anything else you’d like to ask.

Personally, I will be using them as a unit as I intended, along with my ragtag alien pirates/mercs, maybe they will make an appearance as little gribblies in any 28mm games I might run in the future, as they would be quite cool as annoying little gobbo type fodder troops. I will be interested to see  what others use them for and what paint schemes they use when getting their own.

blu4

TTFN

Enhanced by Zemanta
14 Responses to “First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature”

  1. Brummie (Simon Q) January 8, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    Very Cool I like him

    • grimace73 January 8, 2013 at 7:52 am #

      Thanks, I’m quite pleased how it turned out with as much detail as it did. Not bad for a first attempt, but I’m getting better! There’s loads of good things lined up for 2013 as far as my sculpts are concerned, so this little fellow might be just the first of many miniatures your going to see in the very near future….!!

  2. Fjodin March 22, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

    I bought one of Criat from 15mm.co.uk. and he is very quite :) :)

    • grimace73 March 23, 2013 at 2:57 am #

      Thanks!! I’m glad you like it! Theres more criat in the pipeline to help fill out them with different troop types!
      I’d love to see how you paint it up, let me know when you get round to painting it up!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Schwimmwagen figures - MantisMiniatures - January 9, 2013

    [...] First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature (thegrinningskull.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. More 15mm Alien plant terrain- Alien swamp « The Grinning Skull - January 11, 2013

    [...] First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature [...]

  3. My Homepage - January 12, 2013

    … [Trackback]…

    [...] Informations on that Topic: thegrinningskull.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/first-look-finished-15mm-criat-alien-mercenary-miniature/ [...]…

  4. 15mm Miniature Creature Design basics « The Grinning Skull - January 19, 2013

    [...] First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature [...]

  5. Pendraken painting Competition 2013 starts today! « The Grinning Skull - February 1, 2013

    [...] First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature [...]

  6. Elektrische Zahnbürsten - February 3, 2013

    Trackback…

    Trackback…

  7. New release: SHM52 Criat Mercenary at 15mm.co.uk « The Grinning Skull - February 8, 2013

    [...] First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature [...]

  8. 10mm Pendraken Sci-fi Minotaurs « The Grinning Skull - February 20, 2013

    [...] First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature [...]

  9. In the future, even goats wear shades…15mm Irregular Miniatures Sci-fi Goatmen | The Grinning Skull - February 27, 2013

    [...] First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature [...]

  10. More Reinforcements, Irregular Miniatures 15mm & 6mm Treemen! | The Grinning Skull - February 27, 2013

    [...] First Look: Finished 15mm Criat Alien Mercenary miniature [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,380 other followers

