Beyond the Gates of Antares- Will I like it?

3 Jan

photo-full

Beyond the Gates of Antares by Dark Space Corp — Kickstarter.

Well we see that Beyond the gate of Antares has started over on Kickstarter, and me for one am not sure whether I should be in on it?

It’s not that I think it’s going to be bad or anything like that,  just that it’s hard to work out if I l’m going to like it?

As we speak the total is at £41,845 of the total £300,000 to be raised (That is an absolute fortune, a third of a million quid…for a wargame, that is a hell of a lot of hard cash)

OK, so its got Rick Priestley on board, it’s looking rather slick and well executed. i like some of the ideas, especially the Pan-simians. It’s just that I don’t know if I have enough time and resources to devote to an entire new army or two this year, and from the looks it will have a hefty tag added to any initial investment. I kind of fear that this may become another GWesque operation. Especially having to get loads of new stuff from the off. I just know it’s going to cost an arm and a leg to get into properly.

It is fortunate that there is a £1 backing level so people like me can have a few test games to see if we like it (The tiers above £25 are out of the question for me…as much as I’d like to be schmoozed by the team!!)

It has been already noted on the net that the innovative  online campaign system could most definately be abused by not playing any games, then feeding the results to the system as one wished,  think of the trouble they would have if your undefeated commander was named Sir Fingerbanger Wankybollocks and led the eternal Sausage Jockeys? Would they have to write it into the background like they say?

Also as much as this “community” stuff they want to incorporate into the game seems to be a bit like, hey there people, I tell you what, you can do all the work for us, we’ll just cherry pick any good ideas, use them for ourselves so we can make a mini GW evil empire, and YOU can even pay for it yourselves!! Forgive me as if coming across a bit negative, but it seems a little like that to me.

Another point that puts me off is the name. Now, Beyond the gates of Antares isn’t too bad, it aint that good either. It doesn’t inspire me to give it a go. Call me old fashioned, but it’s not screaming out wargaming to me, or come and invest a sizeable fortune in this system! These games I fear are in a business sense, in opposition to something done as a work of love, so as much as the flashiness and interaction aspects maybe a possibly good thing, this also may be just a catch game to lure younger gamers to the fold, you know, like the ones near the end of the GW partnership that are finally kicking the habit and all!

Still,what do I know? It’s more than likely to do well, and become the latest big thing!

I will still back it at a pound, it seems too harsh to reject it altogether without giving it a chance. Might be that I will create a 28mm ape army after all….Proxies mind you, you don’t think I’m that thick..!

Check it out for yourself and tell me what you reckon. As ever I welcome your imput and comments, and I as ever will try and keep some of my attention on the KS and games development as time goes on…

TTFN

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 Responses to “Beyond the Gates of Antares- Will I like it?”

  1. Brummie January 3, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    Buy the rules and do it in 15mm instead. I’ve taken a look and not impressed so far. So little to go on at the moment

    • grimace73 January 3, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

      I have to agree with you, it seems a bit lacking something. I fear that whatever we doubters think, there will be lots of others that think the opposite!
      We’ll have to wait and see what else they come up with to try and change our minds!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paper Forge BMP1 tank at Wargame Vault « The Grinning Skull - January 14, 2013

    […] Beyond the Gates of Antares- Will I like it? […]

  2. Bug Hunt Corridors KS smashes $6,000 goal with 21 days left! « The Grinning Skull - January 17, 2013

    […] Beyond the Gates of Antares- Will I like it? […]

  3. Stranger & stranger…Agnostic Giraffe Miniatures Kickstarter « The Grinning Skull - January 22, 2013

    […] Beyond the Gates of Antares- Will I like it? […]

  4. Black Cat Bases release Penguins & Seals. Pingu wargaming anyone? « The Grinning Skull - February 4, 2013

    […] Beyond the Gates of Antares- Will I like it? […]

  5. Beyond the Gates of Antares Kickstarter Cancelled!! « The Grinning Skull - February 16, 2013

    […] Beyond the Gates of Antares- Will I like it? […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,385 other followers

