Attack of the 15mm Giant B-Movie Spiders and Ants from Poundland!!

4 Nov

Scratch built giant spider for the “little Un’s”

Hullo folks, after a brief internet hiatus due to various reasons, it’s left me with an oppotunity to do a bit of gaming, painting and making. This time I wanna talk about a really great set of miniatures for those on a budget, and with a love of insectoid B-movies.

Yes I’m talking about giant insects/bugs. Mainly those of the arachnid type, and ants too!

As it was Halloween, in our local Poundland, they were selling sets of mini creepy crawlies in sets of 52, and they were perfect for giant nasties for 15mm B-movie gaming:

Getting them out of the pack, the first thing I did was stick them to some pennies, ready for painting,

Giving them a basic a basic paintjob and some scatter on the base, here’s how they turned out, pretty good to consider they cost about 3p each (2p basic +1p for the base!) They are ideal for cheap arachnophobia/empire of the ants based skirmishes.

The Spiders

A few giant red ants

As you can see, I haven’t finished the bases yet, nor have I painted the lot, I’ll get round to doing the rest shortly, but I was left with a question nagging me, where was the mommy spider? Even so these were big spiders, there was always a big mutha waiting somewhere…So I made one from scratch!

Sure I could have gone and bought one from somewhere, but you know me, I enjoy making scratch built stuff, so why not a gigantic spider for the “little” spiderlings!

A proud mum and her kids posing for a family photo!

The big spider is made from the usual card, paper and cotton wool/pva, and based on an old CD . I’m pleased with the outcome, as it’s cost me nothing once more. I did price up a few spiders before from various companies, and they ran into a fair few pounds, this way is much better, as I can afford some more minis with the cash I have saved. One giant spider and 26 smaller spids and 26 ants all cost just over £1.50 (taking into account the 1ps for the bases) and they will terrify my players and opponents just as well as the more expensive alternatives!

More pics later when its totally finished, including some size comparisons, action shots etc.

TTFN

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 Responses to “Attack of the 15mm Giant B-Movie Spiders and Ants from Poundland!!”

  1. Chris Brann November 4, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    Very clever, and creative.

    • grimace73 November 4, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

      Thanks! having little or no budget forces me to think out of the box, so any ideas or innovation is just a result of that reason!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Zombie Dawn USE ME 15mm Rules Review « The Grinning Skull - November 4, 2012

    [...] [The Grinning Skull] Attack of the 15mm Giant B-Movie Spiders and Ants from Poundland!! [...]

  2. Ten 15mm miniature ranges nobody makes! (Possibly with good reason) « The Grinning Skull - December 10, 2012

    [...] [The Grinning Skull] Attack of the 15mm Giant B-Movie Spiders and Ants from Poundland!! [...]

  3. Black Dog HQ landing pad scenic WIP « The Grinning Skull - December 16, 2012

    [...] [The Grinning Skull] Attack of the 15mm Giant B-Movie Spiders and Ants from Poundland!! [...]

  4. Beyond the Gates of Antares- Will I like it? « The Grinning Skull - January 3, 2013

    [...] [The Grinning Skull] Attack of the 15mm Giant B-Movie Spiders and Ants from Poundland!! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,365 other followers

